Lost in the Outback – The Story Part One

I began writing my first novel in July 2017 – 6 years ago. I finished it in September. It was accepted and published in March 2018. It was based very loosely on my time teaching at Barellan, a small town in the Riverina of western New South Wales. It was published soon after in large print by Linford Romance.

Since then I’ve sold 13 other novels, with 12 being reprinted; the latest being Deja Vu to Linford Romance yesterday. I’ve never claimed to be a good writer yet here I am thanks to the support of my editors, families and friends.

However, I’ve never managed to secure an agent or find a mainstream publisher interested in helping me reach a wider audience. Recently I thought I had. finally I had a publisher interested in my work and one who wasn’t going to charge me thousands to help me ‘get it out there’. Sadly, when the Society of Authors viewed the contract, they suggested that there were several issues, ones that I didn’t accept could be righted by negotiation. Back to square one for this aging Aussie then.

But I had a plan B. Three weeks ago I put it into action and again with writerly support it’s almost at the point where I can share it with everyone.

Which novel should I choose to start the next chapter of my writing journey with, I asked myself. This proved how mad I am or, as Aussies are prone to say, ‘a few kangaroos loose in the top paddock’. Stupid me. There’s only one answer you daft wombat …’ OUTBACK’.

Watch this space, friends …

One thought on “Lost in the Outback – The Story Part One

Leave a comment